Monday, July 4, 2016

Foster County Commissioners - Evolving to Five Districts/Five Members


The Foster County commission as per requirements of the North Dakota Century Code met in a special meeting on June 27, 2016.  They decided to form a citizens' committee to work with the commissioners on the creation of five districts.  This is the result of the community voting to have five commissioners instead of three.  The meeting will be held tonight, June 29th, at 6 o'clock.  Committee members consist of Becky Hagel, Ted Keller, Gilbert Black, Steve Metzger.

After the adoption of the five districts, the commissioners will appoint two new commissioners to serve with them till the November General Election. ( All commissioners will be up for election in November.)   Anyone wanting to be one of the newly appointed commissioners should contact Josh Dreher, Pat Copenhaver, or Roger Gussiaas as soon as possible today.


The Foster County Commissioners met with a special committee this evening, June 29th, to determine how the county would be divided into five districts.  The committee members - Becky Hagel, Steve Metzger, Gilbert Black and Ted Keller - presented their ideas to the commissioners.  Chairman Dreher shared his plan with everyone, and Commissioners Gussiaas and Copenhaver presented their thoughts regarding all the plans. It was obvious that they had all put a lot of time and effort into figuring out how the districts would be similar in population - which was a main requirement for districting.   At the end of the discussion, the commission accepted the plan upon which Becky Hagel, Steve Metzger and Gilbert Black had collaborated.

The commissioners decided to wait until tomorrow evening, June 30th, at 7:30 p.m. when they will meet to appoint two commissioners who will serve with them until the November election.   Any Foster County resident wanting to be one of the newly appointed commissioners should contact Josh Dreher, Pat Copenhaver, or Roger Gussiaas as soon as possible in order to be considered for an appointment.  By the end of tomorrow's meeting, Foster County will have five commissioners.

At the November general election, all five district commission positions will be on the ballot.  Anyone wishing to run for commissioner of his/her district in November, needs to turn in an application to the auditor by September 9, 2016


The Foster County Commissioners appointed two additional commissioners at the July 1st meeting this morning. They are Becky Hagel and John Murphy. Added to Chairman Josh Dreher, Vice Chairman Pat Copenhaver, and Roger Gussiaas, Foster County now has five commissioners - which is what the community voted for at the June Primary election.

No comments:

Post a Comment